Back to All Events

Wihan Quartet and Sacconi Quartet

  • Djanogly Recital Hall NG7 2RD United Kingdom (map)

All three string octets in this concert were written before the composers turned 20. Shostakovich’s two pieces for string octet - composed whilst a student at Leningrad Conservatory - are a chorale-like prelude followed by a fast and fiery Scherzo.

Mendelssohn’s sublime octet is the most well-known piece on the programme and is one of the most loved chamber works in the repertory but was written when he was aged only 16.

Inspired by Mendelssohn’s octet, Romanian composer George Enescu found writing his epic 40-minute work a challenge but this late Romantic work was hailed as an astonishing achievement when completed in 1900.

Book Tickets

Earlier Event: October 26
Cadogan Hall - Pre-Concert Recital
Later Event: November 3